Top OFCS Awards go to ‘Hurt Locker’

I’m a member of the Online Film Critics Society, and am currently serving on the three-person Governing Committee, which obligates you to refer to me as Governor Snider. But that is beside the point. The point is that our 143 members have voted on the 13th annual OFCS Awards, and the winners are as follows (links are to my reviews):

Best Picture: “The Hurt Locker”
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “The Hurt Locker”
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner, “The Hurt Locker”
Best Actress: Melanie Laurent, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Adapted Screenplay: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” based on a book by Roald Dahl
Best Documentary: “Anvil!: The Story of Anvil”
Best Picture Not in the English Language: “The White Ribbon”
Best Animated Feature: “Up”
Best Cinematography: Robert Richardson, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Score: Michael Giacchino, “Up”
Best Editing: Chris Innis and Bob Murawski, “The Hurt Locker”

(If you want to see the nominees that were previously selected, the list is here.)

In several cases the films I voted for didn’t win, but I’m not disappointed by any of the results. They’re all very solid choices. I note with some interest that “Avatar,” though nominated in three categories, didn’t win anything — but James Cameron’s ex-wife, Kathryn Bigelow, won Best Director. There’s a pretty good chance it will go that way at the Oscars, too.

More OFCS stuff can be found at our blog.