Winter TV premiere dates

Here is a list of season premiere dates for your winter TV shows, followed by a list of when the shows that premiered in the fall will return from their winter hiatuses with new episodes. All information is swiped from E! Online’s handy schedule; omissions or errors should be addressed to the good people at E! Online, not me. An asterisk indicates a new series.


Monday, Jan. 5
The Bachelor (ABC)
Secret Life of the American Teenager (ABC Family)
*True Beauty (ABC)

Tuesday, Jan. 6
The Biggest Loser: Couples (NBC)
Scrubs (ABC)
Nip/Tuck (FX)

Wednesday, Jan. 7
*13: The Fear Is Real (CW)
Damages (FX)

Friday, Jan. 9
*Flashpoint (CBS)

Sunday, Jan. 11
24 (Fox — 2-hour premiere; 2 more hours on Monday, the show’s regular night)

Monday, Jan. 12
Kyle XY (ABC Family)

Tuesday, Jan. 13
American Idol (Fox)

Wednesday, Jan. 14

*Wonderland (DirecTV 101)

Thursday, Jan. 15
*The Beast (A&E)

Friday, Jan. 16
Battlestar Galactica (Sci Fi)
Friday Night Lights (NBC, re-airing episodes already shown on DirecTV 101)

Sunday, Jan. 18
Big Love (HBO)
Flight of the Conchords (HBO)
The L Word (Showtime)
Secret Diary of a Call Girl (Showtime)
*United States of Tara (Showtime)

Wednesday, Jan. 21
*Lie to Me (Fox)
Lost (ABC — 2-hour premiere)

Monday, Jan. 26

*Trust Me (TNT)

Thursday, Feb. 12
Survivor (CBS)

Monday, Feb. 2
Medium (NBC)

Friday, Feb. 13
*Dollhouse (Fox)

Sunday, Feb. 15
The Amazing Race (CBS)

Sunday, March 1
Celebrity Apprentice (NBC)

Sunday, March 8
Breaking Bad (AMC)

Monday, March 9
*Castle (ABC)

Tuesday, March 17
Reaper (CW)

Thursday, March 19
*Kings (NBC)

Tuesday, March 24
*Cupid (ABC)

Wednesday, April 8
*The Unusuals (ABC)

Thursday, April 9
*Harper’s Island (CBS)


Sunday, Jan. 4
Brothers & Sisters (ABC)
Desperate Housewives (ABC)
The Unit (CBS)

Monday, Jan. 5
Gossip Girl (CW)
One Tree Hill (CW)

Tuesday, Jan. 6
90210 (CW)
According to Jim (ABC)
Law & Order: SVU (NBC)
The Mentalist (CBS)
Privileged (CW)
Without a Trace (CBS)

Wednesday, Jan. 7
Knight Rider (NBC)
Law & Order (NBC)

Thursday, Jan. 8
30 Rock (NBC)
Grey’s Anatomy (ABC)
Kath & Kim (NBC)
My Name Is Earl (NBC)
The Office (NBC)
Private Practice (ABC)
Ugly Betty (ABC)

Friday, Jan. 9
Monk (USA)
Psych (USA)

Monday, Jan. 12
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
CSI: Miami (CBS)
How I Met Your Mother (CBS)
Samantha Who? (ABC)
Two and a Half Men (CBS)
Worst Week (CBS)

Wednesday, Jan. 14
Criminal Minds (CBS)

Thursday, Jan. 15
Bones (Fox)
Smallville (CW)
Supernatural (CW)

Sunday, Jan. 18
American Dad (Fox)
Family Guy (Fox)
King of the Hill (Fox)
The Simpsons (Fox)

Monday, Jan. 19
House (Fox)

Tuesday, Jan. 20
Fringe (Fox)

Thursday, Jan. 22
Burn Notice (USA)

Monday, Jan. 26
The Closer (TNT)

Wednesday, Jan. 28
Life on Mars (ABC)

Thursday, Jan. 29
Hell’s Kitchen (Fox)

Monday, Feb. 2
Chuck (NBC)
Heroes (NBC)

Wednesday, Feb. 4
Life (NBC)

Friday, Feb. 13
Terminator (Fox)

Amy Poehler, Beyond Thunderdome (NBC) – April
Law & Order: Criminal Intent (USA) – March or April
My Boys (TBS) – Spring
Prison Break (Fox) – Spring
‘Til Death (Fox) – Spring
Rescue me (FX) – March or April
Rules of Engagement (CBS) – Spring
Saving Grace (TNT) – March
The Tudors (Showtime) – April